

FOR IMMEDIATE RELEASE

Prestigious Future Space Leader Grants Announced to Program's Largest Class of Awardees

(July 11, 2016 - Washington, DC) - The Future Space Leaders Foundation has announced the nine winners of its annual Future Space Leaders Grant Program. The Foundation will provide grants to nine graduate students and young professionals to cover expenses associated with participating in the 67th International Astronautical Congress (IAC) in Guadalajara, Mexico, one of the world's most important space industry gatherings. The nine grant winners will also have access to other industry events including: Future Space 2016, the AAS Goddard Memorial Symposium, NSC Goddard Memorial Dinner, Satellite 2017, SGAC Congress and Fusion Forum, SSPI Gala, SSPI Future Leaders Dinner, AIAA Spotlight Awards Gala and ISPCS. After a rigorous and competitive application process, the grant winners were selected on the basis of their commitment to the advancement of space sciences and the quality of the abstracts they will present at the 67th IAC.

The 2016-17 FLSF grant winners are:

Travis Doom is an Aerospace Analyst at The Tauri Group; Alexander Gibson is a Space Operations Officer at Army National Guard and masters student in Aerospace Engineering at the University of Colorado at Boulder. He also serves as the Regional Coordinator, Space Generation Advisory Council; Tara Halt is a masters student in International Science and Technology Policy at George Washington University; Kavya Manyapu is a Flight Crew Operations Engineer on the CST-100 Starliner Program at The Boeing Company and a Ph.D candidate in Aerospace Sciences researching planetary spacesuits at the University of North Dakota; Tomoya Mori is a research assistant at WayPaver Foundation; William O'Neill is a PhD student in Aeronautical and Astronautical Engineering at Purdue University; Javier Stober is a Ph.D. Candidate in Aeronautics and Astronautics at Stanford University; Dr. Danielle Wood is the Special Assistant to the Deputy Administrator at NASA Headquarters; Brittany Zimmerman is a masters student in Space Studies at the University of North Dakota

The board of the Future Space Leaders Foundation is proud to award its 2016-2017 grants to an accomplished group of graduate students and young professionals. Future Space Leaders Foundation chairman Clayton Mowry said, "We are excited to provide access to the IAC and other important industry symposia for this promising group of young space and satellite professionals. We have good reason to expect great things from all of them."

###

The Future Space Leaders Foundation is a 501(c)(3) tax exempt and non-profit organization incorporated in the District of Columbia dedicated to the career development of young space and satellite industry professionals. The Foundation organizes events and raises funding for grants to be awarded to deserving graduate students and young professionals seeking careers in the space industry. FSLF works in cooperation with other non-profits, commercial entities and government agencies on activities that seek to further the mission of the Foundation.